Hoping it wasn’t a Goodbye..

Describe the last difficult “goodbye” you said.

How does it feel when you say goodbye to a place which became a home for you, where you made lots of happiness with your loved one?

We lived in Pittsburgh USA for almost a decade and cherished every moment of it. Deep down though, we always knew we will go back to our motherland India and had been vocal about it as well. My inner circle knew about my love for my birthplace Varanasi (India) and about my wish to go back there.

Then the phenomenon called COVID19 happened and suddenly a significant portion of collective human mind was insecure about their bucket lists, their dreams etc. Those who had migrated from their loved ones for work, started suspecting their chances to make it to home. We too went through similar sentiments and decided to move to India as soon as we get a chance.

It was 23rd March 2021, we were outside our apartment, in the parking area, putting our luggage in our friend’s car. Pittsburgh airport was not far from our home in Moon but still we were already very late so were advised to immediately start. We had given the apartment keys to our friend who would hand it over to the Thorn Run office on our behalf. We hugged our friends, said bye and rushed into the car to start our last journey from Moon Township.

The car had moved for hardly few feet and I asked my friend to stop and give my apartment’s key. Was it something we missed… that was the thought which crossed everyones mind there. My wife accompanied me while we entered into our apartment for one more time. We looked at each corner of the apartment 40 with our eyes moist, smelt the homeliness and then hugged each other.

Yes, it was a very difficult goodbye!

Leave a comment